Submitted by 28152016040706… on Tue, 01/23/2018 - 15:25

Date: Friday, January 13, 2017 - 11:00am

Contact Info: Sam Jones-Ellard

Release No.:  191-16

WASHINGTON, Jan. 13, 2017 – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack appointed 17 members and 17 alternate members to serve on the Cotton Board.  All appointees will serve 3-year terms ending on Dec. 31, 2019. 

The re-appointed members are:  Walter L. Corcoran, Eufoula, Ala.; David J. DeFelix, Campbellton, Fla.; James L. Webb, Leary, Ga.; Suzanne R. Drouhard, Danville, Kan.; Kim M. Mayberry-Holifield, Kennett, Mo.; Jess “Mark” M. Nichols, Altus, Okla.; R. Guy Darby, Jr., Chester, S.C.; Willie L. German, Somerville, Tenn.; Madison "Matt" Farmer, Lamesa, Texas; Lance V. Everett, Stony Creek, Va.; Helga L. Ying, Piedmont, Calif.; Michael D. Wallace, Bentonville, Ark.; Joe D. Long, Irvine, Ky.; Peter M. McGrath, Addison, Texas; and, Arlene M. Eastwood, Neptune, N.J.     

The re-appointed alternate members are: Timothy J. Mullek, Robertsdale, Ala.; Alan J. Edwards, Jay, Fla.; Benjamin R. Grimsley, Weston, Ga.; Thomas L. Lahey, Moscow, Kan.; Clint D. Abernathy, Altus, Okla.; Catherine S. Via, Bells, Tenn.; Sigifredo "Sigi" Valverde, Shallowater, Texas; Sarah "Sally" M. Gilligan, San Francisco, Calif.; James C. Self III, Greenville, S.C.; Gary E. Ross, Yardley, Pa.; and, Tara E. Hoffman, New York, N.Y.

The newly appointed members are: Alisa Ogden, Carlsbad, N.M.; and, Monica J. Gorman, Winchester, Mass.

The newly appointed alternate members are: Albert R. James, Sikeston, Mo.; Nathan H. Jurva, Carlsbad, N.M.; Don B. Wakefield, Jackson, S.C.; Shelley S. Butler Barlow, Suffolk, Va.; Laurie A. Rando, Scotch Plain, N.J.; and, Crystal A. Button, Great Neck, N.Y.

Secretary Vilsack also appointed Darren J. Hembree, Doerun, Ga., as an alternate member to fill a vacant Georgia position with a term expiring December 31, 2018.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, were authorized by Congress, and date back to 1966, when Congress passed the Cotton Research and Promotion Act. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 research and promotion boards. They empower farmers, ranchers, and other stakeholders to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.

Get the latest Agricultural Marketing Service news at or follow us on Twitter @USDA_AMS. You can also read about us on the USDA blog.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).